Call For a free consultation 509-899-5375

Negligent Driving

Negligent Driving

Negligent driving in the first degree is a misdemeanor.  Negligent Driving is charged when there is not enough evidence for the officer to charge a DUI and there is evidence that the person has consumed drugs or alcohol or exhibiting the effects of having consumed drugs or alcohol.  It is a misdemeanor with a maximum sentence of 90 days in jail, $1,000 fine, and probation.

A person may be convicted of negligent driving in the first degree if he or she operates a motor vehicle in a manner that is negligent and endangers the life or property of another, while exhibiting the effects of having consumed liquor or an illegal drug.  No minimum blood alcohol content (BAC) level is required to be found guilty of negligent driving in the first degree.

By comparison, negligent driving in the second degree is a traffic infraction, punishable by a monetary fine.  As with other moving violations, a negligent driving second-degree infraction will impact an individual's driving record and possibly his or her insurance rates.  A person may receive a ticket for negligent driving in the second degree if he or she operates a motor vehicle in a negligent manner that endangers the person or property of another (no requirement of alcohol or drug use).

Heritage Law Office can walk you through this process, protect your rights, and give excellent advice on how to proceed. 

Contact A Defense Attorney For The Help You Need

We serve clients in Kittitas County and throughout Eastern, Central and Western Washington. To speak with a skilled defense attorney, call 509-899-5375 for a free consultation. You may also contact us by email.

Counties We Serve

We serve counties and cities throughout Washington State, including Kittitas, Benton, Chelan, Douglas, Grant, King, Lincoln, Okanogan, Othello, Pierce, Ritzville, Skagit, Snohomish, Spokane, Thurston, Walla Walla, Whatcom, and Yakima. Contact Heritage Law Office for more information.

Menu