Call For a free consultation 509-899-5375

Minor in Possession or Consumption
(MIP/ MIC)

Minor in Possession or Consumption (MIP/MIC)

A person over 18 years of age and under 21 years of age may be charged with a MIP or MIC if an officer determines the person has consumed or has in their possession alcohol or marijuana.  A charge for MIP or MIC can cause significant problems.  If the charge relates to the possession or consumption of marijuana, you may be prohibited from federal financial aid for a period of time.  

A first offense charge is a misdemeanor with a maximum of 60 days in jail and a $500.00 fine.  A second offense is a gross misdemeanor with a maximum of 60 days in jail and a $5000.00 fine.  A third offense is a gross misdemeanor with a maximum of 364 days in jail and a $5,000.00 fine. 

Minors under the age of 18 years of age may also be charged with a MIP or MIC if an officer determines the person has consumed or has in their possession alcohol or marijuana. The penalties will depend on the offense and prior criminal history.  There could also be a loss of driving privileges.

Heritage Law Office can help you resolve your case in a favorable manner. Call Heritage Law Office to discuss your options.

Contact Heritage Law Office Today

We serve clients in Kittitas County and throughout Eastern, Central and Western Washington.  For a free consultation, contact our law office in Cle Elum at 509-899-5375 or by email.

Counties We Serve

We serve counties and cities throughout Washington State, including Kittitas, Benton, Chelan, Douglas, Grant, King, Lincoln, Okanogan, Othello, Pierce, Ritzville, Skagit, Snohomish, Spokane, Thurston, Walla Walla, Whatcom, and Yakima. Contact Heritage Law Office for more information.

Menu